31 Bricks

That summer, I had decided to add a flower bed to a corner of my backyard. I wanted to place bricks around the edge in a half-moon pattern, and estimated that I would need approximately 25-30 bricks to complete my design.

I’m big on being thrifty and recycling, so as I drove around my neighborhood, I looked for tossed bricks in alleys, the street, and alongside businesses.  I noticed about 4 or 5 bricks next to a driveway, but that was all. For a couple of weeks, I continued to search for discarded bricks, but nothing more turned up.

One day, my husband was helping the older gentleman across the alley clean out his garage.  At the spry old age of 90, he was selling  his home and moving into assisted living. Being the resourceful person (and sometime Dumpster Diver) I am, I knew I simply must see what was being thrown out of that garage. The gentleman had lived there for nearly 50 years, so there was no telling what treasures that garage held…  I stepped into the garage and seen piles of wood, window frames, various clutter, and… a pile of bricks!  I asked what he was going to do with the bricks?  He proceeded to tell me the history behind the bricks–they had come from his old home place, and I could have them if I could use them.  Jackpot!  I gladly and thankfully accepted his offer. The bricks were those wonderfully old, worn, used bricks with crevices, pock-marks, and a beautiful patina – what stories they could tell!

As I carried the bricks to my yard, I counted. To my delight, I counted 31 bricks–one more than I needed to make my flower bed border!  God graciously provided what I needed. I love it when God gives us good gifts.   “Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow.”  James  1:17.

Joy

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

