Haiti Awaits

A little over a year ago, my husband along with 11 others from our church, traveled to Cap Haitian, Haiti on a 12 day mission trip. He and the others stayed at the OMS Compound in Cap Haitian, which is along the coast, on the north west side of Haiti.

I’ve never been on a mission trip, and frankly, I’ve never really had the desire to go. When the opportunity for this trip came up, my husband felt led to go, and had to raise most of the funds for this trip. Part of the funding was through our Mission Board at our church, and the rest was to be provided by us or donors. We had little to put towards the funds–we need every paycheck my husband makes.

Funds were coming in… $300 here, $50, $20, $100 there…  But what were we to do about the lost paycheck for the week my husband would be gone?  My husband and I attended a Mission Committee Meeting at our church one evening (husband is on the committee), to hear the discussion about the upcoming trip. The man who is head of the committee asked husband how things were progressing… were funds coming in?  How close was he to the needed amount?  Yes, he was very close to having all his estimated expenses covered; plane ticket, money for shots, cash for miscellaneous expenses… however he didn’t know what he was going to do about losing a week’s worth of pay.  The committee head asked me how I felt about that… I had to be honest–that’s the best way to be–you can’t accomplish anything when you’re working with dishonesty… I said I didn’t feel good about it at all. Prayers were said, and the meeting adjourned.

A couple of days later, Husband came home from work to share some news with me. His boss had asked how he was coming along on raising money for his trip… husband replied he had all the money in, but he didn’t know what he was going to do about losing a week’s worth of work… the boss then told him he would pay him for that week he could not work… “And my God will supply all your needs according to his riches in glory in Jesus Christ.”  Philippians 4:19

You know, I’m not even sure if I prayed for the issue. I might have shot up a weak, little prayer, but I know for sure I wasn’t down on my knees in prayer and supplication over it. In fact, I thought we’d just have to do without that week’s worth of pay. I was astounded to say the least. This was truly God providing for a need.

This example makes my lack of faith so obvious. Not trusting, not believing God can provide for us—thinking He’s not a big God—thinking He’s not big enough to do something like this. It’s a sad commentary on my faith. But these ‘little’ things are what I need to show me that I can trust in God, that He does know our situation. Jesus said, “Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; but I tell you, not even Solomon in all his glory clothed himself like one of these.  But if God so clothes the grass in the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, how much more will He clothe you? You men of little faith!”  Luke 12: 27 & 28. 

One evening I was looking at the moon, and thinking how I was placing limits on what I thought God was capable of. I was thinking that if didn’t have the ability to do something, than God couldn’t do it either. If I couldn’t stop the rain, cure a sick person, or come up with needed money… then God couldn’t do it either. I know, quite silly of me. But I looked at the moon, and the stars, and what creation I could see just in my backyard… trees, plants, birds… and I thought, “If God can create and hang the moon, and if He can place the stars in the sky, and create all living things, with all their intricacies, if he can keep the moon and the planets from falling out of the sky, and He can part oceans, why oh why don’t I believe that he can take care of me?”   Lately, I’ve been re-thinking mission trips… maybe I’ll go… maybe I’ll trust… do I have it in me?  I hope so. It’s a faith walk.

Joy

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

