“Yes” or “No” ?

Have you ever had the JOY of using the talents and gifts God gave you?  If you have, you know the peace, the comfort, the enthusiasm, the utter fulfilment it brings! So many would wonder, why wouldn’t God use me to minister to or help others by using my spiritual gift, or talent?  I mean, it seems like a no-brainer, right? So how do we miss these things?

I think I have the answer… we miss our ‘calling’ because we’re not willing to say “yes” to God. Sounds big doesn’t it? Saying “No” to God? Unthinkable?  Nope, and to be honest, I still at times, tell Him “no”.  But let’s not get off track here, as this story is about when I said “Yes, I think I can do that…” 

A few years ago, when I was in charge of the video/DVD library, the pastor’s wife pulled me aside and asked if I would be willing to take over the church library also. The woman who was doing it, had her hands full caring for her invalid mother, and was just not able to devote the time it took to keep the library ‘up and running’.  I took a quick glance at the books, thought about it for a moment, and then said, “I don’t know why I couldn’t…”  It looked simple enough; reshelve returned books, keep them in order, receive donated books… yes, I can do that!  The next week, I met with the former librarian to get the skinny on library proceedure… I have to admit, she really had things organized, I couldn’t have stepped in without her having things all laid out in a logical order… “Standing on the shoulders of those who came before!”

It wasn’t long and I was loving my new job, and I began to realize why this was a perfect fit for me:

  • I love to read, always have. After I learned to read the word ‘look’ in 2nd grade, I was hooked–and always have been! 
  • I thrive on organization and order.
  • I love to decorate and embellish–make things look nice.  I love color and creativity.
  • I enjoy working alone, as it gives me the freedom to think and come up with new ideas.
  • I had my very own ‘library’ as a kid: I chose an assortment of books from the Scholastic Reader Book Club, ordered them, and set up shop in my play house.
  • As I child, I would have liked to have been able to live at the library. (I also loved those kid-sized tables and chairs!) 

And here’s the biggie… I had expressed the desire in working at our local library a few years earlier when a position was going to open. I won’t go into details, but suffice to say, I was absolutely stunned upon finding I had missed the job ad and therefore, missed the deadline for applying.  But God works wonders, you know. What you think you need, maybe He knows otherwise. What you think you missed out on in life, He can surprise you with something better. “Then I will make up to you for the years that the swarming locust has eaten…”  Joel 2:25   God gave me my very own library.  Oh, it’s not really mine of course, but he gave me the opportunity to run it, and I said “Yes.” What else are we missing because we don’t say “yes”? 

And you know, God also has a great sense of humor…  See, I may be wonderful with creative things, but I am miserable at numbers–as in bookkeeping.  With an inward smile, I like to think of myself as the church bookkeeper…  God is chuckling too.

So now my creative side emerges… making signs for various areas, scrap booking type tags on containers, adding seasonal decorations, two comfy chairs and an end table to make the area more welcoming… And when books are donated, I have a special shelf for ‘New’ Arrivals, sometimes a comment about the book (after I’ve read it), and when the pastor is teaching on a particular subject, I pull books on that topic and ‘Feature’ them on a separate shelf. What can I say, it’s my own little world!  God knew the perfect fit for me. “I will give thanks to the Lord according to His righteousness and will sing praise to name of the Lord Most High.”  Psalm 7:17

Joy

4 thoughts on ““Yes” or “No” ?

  1. Hello Joy. I went through and read all your posts so far, yes I like this kind of blog very much.
    As to Yes or No, I too have answered no on occasion, not a good idea, and to be quite frank, I’m sorry I didn’t say yes.
    God bless you my fine feathered friend, Geoff.

    • Hey Geoff, thanks for checking out the blog. I’m sure I’ve missed out on quite a lot of growth and blessings for not saying “yes” to God and it is my loss and maybe others also who I could have blessed. It’s fear, I know that. Fear of being uncomfortable, of being stretched.

      • Well Joy sometimes things get thrown at us from other parties that can foster a spirit of fear but sometimes things can also get a lot uncomfortable too. You have blessed many many people in your life and they appreciate it. You will remember the good things you have done in your life just as much as the times when you could have done more but hey, His mercies are new every morning and the next opportunity lies just around the corner, maybe next time you will say yes, who knows?
        God bless you joy, you’ve blessed me plenty, Geoff.

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

