On Track With God?

About two years ago, we, as a church body, began the “60/60” experiment as outlined in the book, “Soul Revolution” by John Burke. (click on the link to find out more). Essentially, it is a guide/way of staying in tune/in touch with God through out the day, for hopefully, the rest of your life. To be honest, when my husband and I first heard about the 60/60 Experiment, groans and sighs went all around… geesh, not another ‘thing’ to do? But we decided to give the idea a fair chance (me grudgingly), and soon, with book in hand, and a little green, palm-sized 60 minute timer that would clip on a belt loop or purse handle, off we went… (I trudged… note extreme enthusiasm here.)

So here we are, two years later, and to be honest, I’ve forgotten much of what was in the book. But one part I do remember, is the part that changed the direction of my life and set me on a different track… the ‘suggestion’ about not only listening to God’s promptings, but –and hold on here–actually acting on them. I know, what a concept– listening to God!  Fasten your seatbelt, as we are in for a long ride here, are you up to it?  If not, take the next exit up ahead!

What was that earth-shattering, life changing experiment I did? I made a list… a list of promptings from God (there were five), and then… I stepped out in faith and acted on them. Except for one–and oh, I paid for that one! Here’s the scenario: About half way down the list… #3 Pick up dog poop in front yard next to sidewalk.  “I’m not picking that up! It’s not on the sidewalk and I won’t step in it! I’m going to let it lie there til next spring!” That was the one prompting I did not obey and boy did I step in it. “Okay, God. You let me reap the consequences of my unbelief.” 

Out of the remaining 4 promptings, 3 were rather insignificant, but one was risky and wild, but I’ve been known to be somewhat of a Wildchild in My Day, so here I go… I had heard of and seen a product on the Internet that I wanted to try–a shampoo bar. It happened that the person who owned the business (selling the shampoo bar and other products), was a friend of a friend of mine that passed away a few years ago. This person who owned the business did not know me, and I had never met him. I found his e-mail address and sent a photo of me with our mutual friend that had been taken over 30 years ago. He replied saying he vaguely remembered seeing the photo. Enter prompting:  I said I would like to try his shampoo bar and If I sent him two of my hand crocheted wash cloths, would he send me a bar of his shampoo? In turn, I would do a product review of the shampoo on my blog. I added that if the shampoo is as good as the reviews stated, then I wouldn’t have any trouble writing a great review, and seeing as people from all over the world looked at my blog, he would be getting some ‘free press’.

Was that wild? Was that bold? Was that like off the wall crazy? I distinctly remember God saying, “Send him some wash cloths in trade for the shampoo bar.”  I figured, what did I have to lose? If nothing else, I’d get a free bar of shampoo, and the business owner gets some free advertising.  He bit. He sent two shampoo bars, I tried the shampoo, and wrote a review along with photos I took. Oh, but the story does not end there, no my friend, it was just beginning!  Do you want to hear more? Are you still in the car? It gets better, it gets FANTASTIC!

After writing the review, I sent him a link and then, went on with my silly little exciting life.  A month or so passed and out of the blue, I heard from him. He liked my review, he said I wrote well, he thought I had a great eye for photography and art, and would I be interested in doing an on-line monthly newsletter for his company?  Kids, this was like being in the Olympics… no, wait, this was like winning the Gold Medal!  Did I feel fear? You bet! But I knew this was from God, so I grabbed it! I had listened to and acted on a prompting from God and look where I was!

To make a long story even longer… we did the newsletter ‘J.R.LIGGETT’S soapbox’, then, changed directions with ‘J.R.LIGGETT’S Interview‘, then, changed directions again, and now, www.jrliggettsblog.com.  What’s up next? I don’t know. But having come this far, I know God knows ‘what’s up’— I don’t have to worry about it. Surely, He has something interesting down the line…

I heeded a prompting from God, and look where it took me. I stepped out in faith, said “yes” and here I am. And I seriously doubt that this is the end of the line, either. I know my past prepared me for where I am, and my present is preparing me for where I’m going. If I can just get past the fear, if I can just trust God, trust that He knows what’s best for me, trust that he would not lead me astray or down the wrong path, then I think I’ll be in for a wild ride in life. I would like to live that way, I hope I can.  “For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.”  Jeremiah 29:11

Joy

One thought on “On Track With God?

  1. Hey Joy, I’ve been acting on the promptings lately, no I don’t know whether they are promptings or not, but I am being much more bold in my approach and things are going great. God is very gentle with me and knows what I need even before I ask, things just seem to happen in such a way that I am blessed, even today.
    Your offer to trade was very bold and to tell the truth a good idea and now look where it has taken you. Well done and may the Lord bless you today and always, Geoff.

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

