Christian Thought & Conduct

Wow… that’s a broad subject isn’t it? But what I’m speaking of here, is in reference to Philippians 4: vs 8:  “Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, it there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.” (VS 9: “The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.”) 

The theme of the book of Philippians is, “joy” or “rejoicing in the Lord.”  A person who is a Christian will (should!) be different from a non-believer. These verses exhort a Christian to do these things and they will be acceptable to God. Yes, I see the point, but I’ve actually thought of them in a different way, and this is how I apply them (one translation, but many applications) in my life.

On TV, the Internet, the radio, and in life, you will find plenty of filth and vile, disgusting words, photos, movies, and programs. More than enough ugly things in this life than we could look at or listen to in a hundred lifetimes. Seeing and listening to these things do not lift my spirits, nor fill me with the Holy Spirit. What they do is bother me, make me sad, make me angry, repulse me, disgust me, frighten me, confuse me, and fill me with doubt and worry. That is not how I want to live my daily life.

I have noticed that the various detective and crime programs on TV always present a scene of a dead or tortured woman lying in a pool of blood or on a gurney in a morgue. Take note, these are not old, fat, ugly women–no, they are young, pretty, shapely women and usually their background was as a prostitute, stripper, or some sort of unsavory character. These programs appeal to the flesh and I find them exploitive and sickening.  No wonder men love to abuse and harm women and these programs are pushing this behavior.

Tragedy and sorrow are on the news daily. Attorney TV shows love to sensationalize these events and discuss the details of the cases over and over–with of course, no resolution. The recent Casey Anthony trial was a perfect example of this type of ‘entertainment’. I truly feel that if one has had an actual murder, suicide, abduction, rape, abuse, or case of child molestation in their life or family, watching these acts portrayed on TV surely would not be found as entertainment.

I have found WordPress.com to also be a culprit in this lack of moral direction… but then, is WordPress as a whole, a Christian platform?  I would imagine that WordPress is for freedom of speech… so be it, but I wonder what criteria they follow when determining what blogs should be “Freshly Pressed”?  I have come across many so-called ‘sophisticated’ WordPress blogs that are filled with cursing in their daily posts; using curse words almost seems to be their badge of honor–they think it’s hip and cutting edge.  One of today’s “Freshly Pressed” selections has a curse word in the blog title. I suppose that is what caught the Powers to Be’s eye.  I will say this, “WordPress, I’m not impressed.” 

“…and If anything worthy of praise…  I prefer to dwell on babies, flowers, nature, a mother and a child, a well designed and constructed object, a beautiful painting, an uplifting story, a person of honor and respect, a beautiful spring day, a peaceful snowfall, a clear mountain stream, a fresh natural spring, the silence in a forest, a bird on wing, the enjoyment of a walk, healthy food, smiles, and laughter. I will …dwell on these things.”

Joy

11 thoughts on “Christian Thought & Conduct

  1. We have a choice, to tune out, turn off, and ignore the images,websites, movies, radio shows
    that offend us for whatever reason. This is now the way of the world – and it isnt going to change – has it become coarser, and more profane, yes it has but it also has many good and beautiful things as well. We have free will so use it you dont have to read or watch anything you dont want to.

  2. Isaiah 33 verses 15 and 16
    The man who lives an upright life and speaks the truth,
    who scorns to enrich himself by extortion,
    who snaps his fingers at a bribe,
    who stops his ears to hear nothing of bloodshed,
    who closes his eyes to the sight of evil –
    that is the man who shall dwell on the heights,
    his refuse a fastness in the cliffs,
    his bread secure and his water never failing.
    Now you know why so many people are selling their TV’s.

    • I love that. Thank you so much. Here is what my New American Standard says: “He who walks righteously and speaks with sincerity, He who rejects unjust gain and shakes his hands so that they hold no bribe; He who stops his ears from hearing about bloodshed and shuts his eyes from looking upon evil; He will dwell on the heights, His refuge will be the impregnable rock; His bread will be given him, His water will be sure.”

  3. I happened upon your post by accident (or not!) and I agree with you about Philippians 4:8 thinking, as well as the proliferation of Freshly Pressed posts that (in my opinion) are poor examples of “good writing.” What ever happened to dictionaries, thesauruses, and “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all?” (not a Biblical quote, but same principle.) It saddens me to see “writing” expressed that way.

    In the last paragraph of your post, you included a lovely list of things to think about, followed by the word “Joy.” I thought — YES!!! Then I realized it was your name! Very apt — like apples of gold in settings of silver. 🙂 Thanks for speaking out.

    • Thank you Kimby! Yep, my name is Joy. I have a story about that I will share someday. Thank you so much for your comment and glad you stopped by! BTW, I took at peek at your blog–yummy stuff there! Loved the story about your Grandmother.

  4. You have hit the nail on the head as to why my TV is off far more than it’s on, and why my selection of blogs to read are limited as they are. I’ve been amazed as I go through links that interest me, whether Blogger or WordPress, the number of Christian women I encounter. DIY home improvement blogs with Bible quotes. I love it!
    Janet

    • Yes, Janet, I also have been pleasantly surprised at the number of Christian women blogs there are ‘out there’. I also have a blog on Blogger and I have found a huge amount of Christian blogs on there–they are a breath of fresh air, wisdom, hope, peace, JOY! Ha!

  5. TV — agreed. In a speech given by Federal Communications Commission (FCC) chairman Newton N. Minow to the convention of the National Association of Broadcasters on May 9, 1961, it was referred to as “a vast wasteland”.
    As far back as that, people in know, knew — and it’s gotten worse of course.

    The writing today is abysmal, the subject matter mostly prurient, the editing sloppy, and the camera work shaky. Messages are often thinly disguised leftist propaganda or outright lies, but mostly its a waste of time.

    I’ve studied the medium and film production/screenplay writing for 3 years in college, and have written a movie screenplay, based on facts, for the G audience out there.

    I do have hope to produce it one day , and currently it is in front of a major producer.
    Wish me luck.

    You may read it it here:
    http://vermontverse.wordpress.com/screenplay-310-to-phoenicia/

    Jim

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

