The First Church of the Fluffy Pillow

 

When Sunday morning arrives (much too early), I often wish I could stay in my warm, comfy bed and attend The First Church of the Fluffy Pillow, or that friendly little gathering of Believers down on the corner, The Congregational Fellowship of Cozy Covers.  If I’m feeling really ambitious– if I’ve got a fire in my belly– I’ll go ahead and drag myself out of bed, and schlep around in my pink chenille robe, coffee mug in hand and tune in to CBS Sunday Morning. Are you shocked that a Christian hasn’t hit the floor running, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, bursting out the door, on a dead run for church services? 

“Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful; and let us consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds, not forsaking our own assembling together, as is the habit of some, but encourage one another; and all the more as you see the day drawing near.”  Hebrews 10: 23-25.      A few months back, I mentioned to an unbelieving friend that I’d like to skip church the next morning and just take it easy. She said, “Well, it’s not like attending is mandatory.”  First of all, by me making that statement, I wasn’t exhibiting a good Christian witness to my un-saved friend. Secondly, I thought, “Well, no, it’s not Law, it’s not mandatory, I could skip church, but should I?” Obviously, the answer is “no”.  Oh, I won’t lose my salvation, but I do know what will happen, even though I’d like to brush it off and ignore it; I will become desensitized to sin. Seriously. If I don’t keep my nose in the Bible, and fellowship with other believers, slowly, ever so slowly, event by event, I will begin to think that God doesn’t really matter than much, and His ‘law’ that has been placed in my heart at conversion, well… the rules are going to start bending a little, and not towards the good side. Like a determined salesman, Satan already has his foot in the door; there’s no need to open it wide and extend an invitation.

I was reading an article on this topic, and the author claimed that many pastors use this verse as a threat so believers will attend church and therefore, attendance numbers and the contributions will be up. I suppose that could happen, but overall, I think that’s silly assumption. The author was also up in arms about the idea of meeting in an actual church building, saying that one does not have to physically meet in an actual structure. I remember asking a friend one time if he attended a church, and he said no, he likes to go out into the woods by himself and let nature be his church. I wasn’t born yesterday, and I know this person well enough that if he was communing with God when he was in the woods, by now he’d be qualified to lead the National Day of Prayer–and baby, it ain’t happenin’.

So why isn’t this Christian beating a path to the door of the church? The #1 answer for me is laziness.  It’s easier to stay in bed, but it’s not what I need. I need to be in fellowship with other believers. I need the social contact, the edification, the exchange of ideas, the encouragement, the accountability, and the love and acceptance. Even if I drag my feet on the way to church, when I do arrive, I forget all about those toasty, soft blankets. Instead, I see my friends, my sisters and brothers in Christ. I smile, I laugh, I catch up on their week, they share their burdens, joys, and praises. I am uplifted, stimulated, and guess what? I learn something–every single time. I learn more about God’s word, and how to apply it in my life. I may be convicted of some sin in my life, either willing disobedience or just plain old-fashioned laziness… who me? Yes. And last Sunday, I learned something else–really learned it: It’s not about me. Imagine that! And what I realized, well, that’s for another post.

Joy

10 thoughts on “The First Church of the Fluffy Pillow

  1. AMEN…AMEN…AMEN…

    and all the congregation said…..AMEN.

    That’s why exactly..we GO ready…to LEARN..to FELLOWSHIP..but most of all to be a TESTIMONY that our Christian walk is important to us..and obedience to HIS WORD. As you quoted..NOT to FORSAKE the assembling of ourselves together…and that fact again from you…little by little..event by event..excuse after excuse..we will become complacent and forget the TRUE WORK OF GOD..and our service…OTHERS.

    Sooo good Joy! You are such a good writer!!
    and I loved the titile.

    There are so many we could add…The First Church of ..whatever your excuses are!!

    God bless you sister!! You are such a blessing!
    HOPE

  2. Good post! I’ve found that if I “skip” church once it makes it so much easier to do so again and again…of course sometimes it’s unavoidable but there are some weeks I know I “should” go…and that’s the only reason I do…but like you, find I ALWAYS get something out of it and am glad I went.

    • Thanks Shelly. A few summers ago, we missed several Sundays in a row because we were painting the house. Come to find out, the rest of the sunday class thought we had quit–but nobody called us to ask! That might be a lesson in itself. Thank you for stopping by!

  3. Hi Joy. Yep, going to church is probably a good thing, it certainly sets the tone for the rest of your Sunday. I like worshipping amongst others who are worshiping the Lord, probably the only chance I get to sing anyway so why not. I also miss church on occasion but like you say, it’s my own fault.
    Take care my friend and blessings to you, Geoff.

  4. Missionary friends of ours took a one year sabbatical from church (building and official meetings).

    They said it was their best year ever, and it took them back from the secular world to the mission field.

    Yes, I get something from “formal church” each week, but long for more. The best times are chatting with other believers in the home, or at the office, and best of all with the Good Book propped up on my knees – IN BED!

    • You know, Christianity is really pretty simple. Don’t need a bunch of bells and whistles. Don’t need a fancy building. Just need Christ and other believers. I imagine when your friends were “living out their faith” it was like a breath of fresh air.

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

