Listen to God? Who, Me?

Keeping it real here, that’s the name of the game. Keeping it real and honest. I’ll be sharing when I mess up, and today I have an example to share, just worked up the courage to do it.

I’ve had God speak to me. If you’re a Christian, you know what I mean. If you’re not, it’s like this: It’s not an actual voice, although it could be, but I’ve never had that happen. More often than not, a quick thought/words will enter your brain–a strong impression, and you know it’s from God cause it’s something you know you should be doing, but you don’t always obey.  If you don’t obey, you lose out… oh, maybe not right away, but then if you had obeyed, no telling where God would have taken you–it might have been really cool–so why not obey?  Self. Rebellion. Laziness.

My story: After this past Thanksgiving but before Christmas, I made a post-Thanksgiving dinner because I wanted some leftovers–they’re always good to pull out of the freezer, and an economical meal to boot. But when I make a Thanksgiving meal, I make quite a bit of extra dishes to go along with it; potatoes, gravy, stuffing with oysters, the infamous Green Bean Casserole, black olives to display on the tips of your fingers, maybe a nuked butternut squash, that canned jellied cranberry sauce complete with indentations from the can–you know, the fancy stuff… You get the picture, it’s a big meal. And since it’s just me and my husband here, we thought we’d share the meal with two other people. We weren’t sure who to invite, so we thought we’d pray about it and just see who came to mind–so to speak. 

A day or two later, I was browsing in a local store and in walks a woman I know–I’ll call her Susan. So, Susan and I chat a bit, laugh a bit, and then… The Strong Impression… and the words, “Ask her.”  (“Invite Susan to your meal. You know her, she’s alone, she’s a nice person…”) So whadda I do?  I tell God “No.”  Yep. I just ignore Him, ignore the prompting. Why?  See the reasons above in the second paragraph. 

But it gets better, and this is why I KNEW that prompting was from God… the very next day, I’m talking with my husband and we’re discussing the fact that we really don’t know who to invite, and out of the blue, he says, “Invite Susan.”   Okay, now I KNOW I’d better invite Susan. I pick up the phone, catch Susan at home, invite her to the meal, and she says she’d love to come and join us. Done deal. But that’s what it took… a big ol’ clonk on my head–not a good thing. But it is a good thing that God is loving, patient, forgiving, persistent… even when I’m hard-headed and disobedient.

Hmmmdisobedient, not listening, not acting when the Lord gives me a word, tells me to do something…. a certain person by name of Jonah comes to mind;  “The word of the Lord came to Jonah the son of Amittal saying, “Arise, go to Nineveh the great city and cry against it, for their wickedness has come up before Me.”  But Jonah rose up to flee to Tarshish from the presence of  the Lord…”  Jonah Chapter 1: vs 1, 2, 3.  Somebody else didn’t listen, and you know what happened to him–a big time clonk on the head and jail time in a slimy stomach…  Thankfully, God was merciful to me and when that second chance appeared, I grabbed it. Whew. You’d think I learn.

Joy

9 thoughts on “Listen to God? Who, Me?

  1. Nice post Joy. Yeah I also struggle with this sometimes, very irritating in retrospect.
    The first verse in the book of Jonah talks about Jonah son of Amittai, Jonah means “The dove” while Amittai means “Truth”. The dove is the symbol of peace and so the verse actually reads “the peace born of truth.” Knowing that simple fact has brought the book of Jonah alive for me, it’s now one of my favorite books in the bible. I know exactly how he felt.
    Have a great weekend with many blessings, Geoff.

  2. Wow! Thanks for the words of wisdom. How often i have missed a blessing when God prompted me to do something and I refused. SELF sure gets in the way shouting, “I wouldn’t be comfortable doing that or maybe I would look silly and what would others think?”
    Joy
    Thanks also to Geoff for enlightening me to the meaning of Jonah and Amittai. May we all come to know “the peace born of truth.”

  3. You’ve got a lot of company in the not obeying, at least not right away, dept. And having a non-Christian think you’re nuts when you say, or even imply, God talks to you? You explained it like I do but I still don’t think I’m understood or believed most of the time. I often say God doesn’t use the proverbial baseball bat to the side of this head; he has to use a phone pole! Man, I can be dense. Thanks for reminding me I’m not alone.
    Janet

  4. I think we’re all a bit like that. What impresses me is that you seem to pray with your husband, my wife don’t pray together, maybe we need our heads knocking together. But yes, you hear the Spirit prompting & ignore it – like many of us. That’s what i enjoyed about my time with “X” this week, for once i acted on God’s nudge and the person in question came into my office and shared their story for 15 minutes, wow – if we are in God’s will things are so much easier than just witnessing because we’re doing it as a duty.

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

