for such a time as this…

“For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance will arise for the Jews from another place and you and your father’s house will perish. And who knows whether you have not attained royalty for such a time as this?”  Esther Chapter 4, vs 14. 

Out of the entire book of Esther, this is the verse that has spoken to me in many ways…  The scene unfolds:  After King Ahasuerus banishes his Queen Vashti from ever appearing again in front of him, the beautiful Jewish girl, Esther, finds favor in the King’s eyes, and she is crowned the new Queen. Her Uncle Mordecai overhears a plot against King Ahasuerus, tells Queen Esther of the plot, Esther in turn informs the King in Mordecai’s name, and presto, the kniving culprits find themselves swaying from the gallows. Meanwhile, back at the ranch, Esther is keeping her lips zipped about her lineage, per Mordecai’s instructions.  Enter Haman whose power and prestige in Ahasuerus’s kingdom requires that folks bow and scrape to him–Mordecai won’t have nuttin’ to do wid dat, no suh. Haman freaks out, and learning that Mordecai is a Jew, figures why not get rid of all the Jews instead of just one little old man? Haman snitches to King A that there are a people (the Jews) through-out his land who thumb their noses at the King’s laws and they need to be done away with.  King A is A-okay with that, and gives Haman the go-ahead.  The decree goes out to kill all Jews–young, old, women and children.  To make a long story even longer, Esther learns of Haman’s evil plot, and Uncle Mordecai by way of messenger  says (supposedly), “Girl don’t kid yourself, you’re goin’ down with the rest of them…” but what he really says is this:  “Then Mordecai told them to reply to Esther, “Do not imagine that you in the king’s palace can escape any more than all the Jews…” Chapter 4:13.

“…and who knows whether you have not attained royalty for such a time as this?”

I’m not a queen, but I’ve come across situations when those words enter my mind.  “For such a time as this…  I have been placed in this situation, with this particular person, on this particular day, at this particular time. This is my time to shine for Christ, to make a difference for Christ. “For such a time as this… I am to share a verse, say a kind word of encouragement, give of my time.  “For such a time as this… God has given me a particular talent or ability to help another.  This is my particular time, my particular opportunity… no one else possess what I possess at this very moment to point someone towards Christ, to help someone make a decision, to listen to someone’s sorrows. “For such a time as this… I bumped into that stranger on the sidewalk, or sat next to that person on an airplane, or stumbled across that person’s blog.  “For such a time as this… I am the person that was needed at that moment, no one else would do, no one else could do what I can do–and should do.

If you are willing to be used by God, you will find yourself being part of many “for such a time as this” situations. You are purposely made by God and have unique spiritual gifts and abilities that are perfectly suited for precise events with selected people at a defined moment.  Life is exciting and interesting when you realize the part you play in this world. Every morning when you wake up, you can live in anticipation of that special moment(s) when God places you in another’s path to make an eternal difference in their life.

The beautiful and good Queen Esther went on to save the day and her people. God placed her and used her “woman smarts” (c’mon girl, you know you got ’em!) to influence the King and to turn the tables on that old wicked Haman. And before we know it, we see Haman just a-swingin’ and a-swayin’ (and his sons also) from the very gallows that he had constructed for Mordecai, the Jews triumphant win over their enemies, and a time of feasting and celebration, for Esther and Mordecai knew what part they played in… such a time as this

Never underestimate the power God has given you to make a difference in this world!

P.S.  I have just ordered the book, “For Such A Time As This”  Secrets of Strategic Living from the Book of Esther,  by Ray C. Stedman.

JOY!

25 thoughts on “for such a time as this…

  1. I love this as it is so very true….we have an incredibly loving God who makes everyday an exciting God day…for such a time as this:) I volunteered as a Christian Counselor, several years ago in a lay counseling ministry. I would see individuals as well as couples. When I first felt the nudging to do this from God I thought oh no not me…..are You sure….and He said Trust Me! I have not seen the picture for many years now but a friend of mine had a picture of a little girl on a rope swing and at the top of the picture was God’s hand holding the swing…the little girl was smiling and happy…representing us as we trust in Him above:)

  2. This gives me goosebumps! We ALL ARE HERE for a REASON! Big or small, we are here to touch others with Christ’s love. We might never know who, when, or where…

    Joy, I would love to reprint this in my newspaper, the “Nebraska Family Times.” It is encouraging and inspiring and gives people something to DO–and that’s something I try to have in every article I print. I’m sorry I can’t pay 🙂 but if I can reprint it I will send you several issues (as many as you want!) of the paper in which this entry appears.

    Would you please e-mail me at shelly@shellyburke.net and let me know if that would be ok, or if you have any questions or would like more information?

    THANK YOU for sharing your gift of writing!

  3. For an event that happened hundreds of years ago, the application still has relevance for today and you did a great job of “modernizing” the telling of it. Sometimes we think of these Bible stories as just that… “stories.” But they are so much more! This event points the way for us when we are called to overcome fear or embarrassment or hesitation (and for some in other countries…death) and share the reality of Christ in our own life. May God give us strength to stand for Him when we are called to. God has given you a gift with words, Joy, thanks for using it to glorify Him.

  4. “For such a time as this” should mark many, many instances in a Christian’s life. Our time is in His hands. When we commit our way to Him we should not be surprised when He places us in a situation where He uses us. Our responsibility is to be available.

  5. Love the picture of the doorknob. Your photograhphy is just stunning. Even of doorknobs! My grandmother’s name was Esther. It’s one of my father’s favorite stories.
    Thank you so much for the comments on my posts!

  6. Thanks Joy.
    This is probably the only book in the Bible that doesn’t mention God? Fasting and sack cloth are talked about but not God. Interesting.
    Yep I need to get back to it and you, by the way, are answering a prayer of mine.
    For a time like this, thanks, Geoff.

  7. Amen. Every moment is an opportunity to glorify God, are we going to choose to walk in the Spirit and obey God which brings life and peace or in the flesh which brings death….thank you for the reminder and encouragement. I see you discipling over the blog and that makes me smile and glorify God because I see your good works! 😉 praying for you…

  8. Such an empowering story, and I love the way you bring it to life to remind us of the way God uses us in other people’s lives, at just the right time. Thank you!

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

