What “If” we really believed the Bible was true?

My good friend shared a story with me about her sister that had passed away years ago from cancer. She had asked her sister why her Christian life was so real and such a joy to her, and how could she find it so natural and be so unafraid to share her love of Jesus with anyone?  Her sister answered that when she finally started living as if the Bible were true, her Christian life was transformed.

A sobering thought, a somewhat frightening question… do I live as if the Bible is true? I would be embarrassed if I said “no”, so I’ll be completely honest and tell you that I sometimes live as if the Bible were not true. How so? Because I am often like the double-minded person described in James chapter 1, verse 6-8:  “But he must ask in faith, without any doubting, for the one who doubts is like the surf of the sea, driven and tossed by the wind. for that man ought not to expect that he will receive anything from the Lord, being a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.” Sometimes I think,

“IF” is the operative word here. We can accomplish this or that, “IF” things work out as planned or “IF” what we have been told is true. What would my Christian life look like “if” I lived it as if the Bible were true?  Can I say unequivocally that I am a Christian if I have doubts? Does the Bible say, “I can do all things through Christ “if” He strengthens me” ?  I know God can do anything, I know He can! But if I doubt, then, do I dare say that I am in effect, calling God a liar?  God cannot lie! And as I write these words and think about them, I am wondering if I am as good of a Christian as I like to think I am.  Sobering and convicting indeed! 

Without a doubt, I know when I get to heaven, I will look back on my life and smack myself on the forehead and say, “I could of had a V-8!”  (“Oh, Joy… ye of so little faith!”  Envision Jesus here, shaking his head and sighing…) I could have lived the most joyous, love-filled, happy, satisfied, content, stress-less, anxiety-absent, excited life “IF” I had believed that everything in the Bible was true! I could have lived my daily life carefree, and full of JOY! I could have had unbounded courage, boldness, trust and confidence! I would have recognized trials for what they were — times of instruction for my own growth — and not taken them as an affront to my security and/or comfort. I could have been content in all things! I could have met each day, each moment with such delight and happiness, knowing that “…God causes all things to work together for good to those who are called according to His purpose.”  Romans 8:28.  Am I called according to God’s purpose? Yes! Now I need to live like it.

I need to make a change in my life. I need to take the Bible at face value and believe what is written on those pages. I need to once again be reminded as to why my name is Joy.   “… and you will know the truth and the truth will make you free!”  John 8:32. God’s truth will set me free from sin, doubt, and all those other niggling issues that I struggle with.

Moment by moment, step by step… no matter the problem, whatever the event, I simply must not waste any more of my days by being tossed about by the winds of doubt and worry. I need to remember that, “This is the day that the Lord has made; let us reJOYce and be glad in it!”  Psalm 118:24

JOY

16 thoughts on “What “If” we really believed the Bible was true?

  1. Amen my sister in Christ!! These are powerful revelations and I’m so thankful you posted them! Yes ‘faith without works is dead’ and the ‘works’ are not just serving, it’s trusting Him fully surrendering to Him and knowing our lives are not our own. I picture it as dancing with God following His lead, not resisting Him but allowing Him to lead–it is life and peace when we do this. Yes I still struggle to take the lead and forget ‘Who’ I belong to, but I’m thankful I do know better, and thankful for His grace. This is a beautiful post–Yes the name God gave you was no mistake JOY!

    Psalm 16:11
    You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.

    • Thanks so much–ain’t it the truth? I like your word picture about letting God lead… gosh, I just get so scared as as to what is going to happen to me when a crisis happens–such fear, but when I realized that I was in effect calling God a liar when I doubt His word…!!! I’ve got work to do!

  2. Aren’t we all surrounded by too much stuff, and it blocks our vision – our trust? If we were as desperate as the woman with a flux of blood who’d spent all that she had on physicians we’d be more than happy to live 100% for Jesus because we’d have known that dependence was the only way forward. We can muddle through life without fully believing – so we do. sad but true.

    By the way did I see you have three other blogs? Can’t find the link now. Spill the beans! Please.

    • This reminds of another point I want to cover–the folks in the world that have nothing in the way of luxuries or material goods are the ones that find it the easiest to fully trust God for everything–because they have nothing of their own to put their trust in (money) that stands in the way! Now, the question is, which one of us is the “poorer/richer” one?

      I think the other blogs are all listed on my profile.

  3. Great post, Joy!!! It made me really think, “Do I REALLY live my life as “if” the Bible is true?” I hate to admit…it probably depends on what day I’m asked 🙂

    What I do know is that who I am now as a follower of Jesus is totally different than who I was before Him. So, at least a part of me knows that I know that the Bible is true. But there is a fleshy side of me that still wants to raise its ugly head.

    I think your thought provoking question is one I will be asking myself in the days to come 🙂

    Thank you

  4. I think we all struggle living what we’ve learned in the Bible. Human nature – first reactions to life’s problems – goes against what the scripture teaches us. Turn the other cheek? First thing I want to do is get back into someone’s grille, but I always hold back because of what I learned in the Bible – and from past experience which tells me it’s just not a good idea.

    Nice simple reminder here, and a valuable one too. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. As I read this post, I thought about how we take people at their word and trust them to keep it. If they say they will help us move, we wait for them to show up with boxes. If they say they will drive us to an appointment, we wait by the door for them to arrive. If they say they will take care of our pet while we are out of town, we don’t worry we will come home to a deceased animal. And, yet, the GOD of the universe tells us unequivocally that we can trust Him, take Him at His word, believe His promises, and so much more….and we wonder if He really will! How ironic that we believe man’s word, but God’s word we question. As always, your wording is perfect, Joy.

  6. Beautiful wisdom and so much to ponder in the coming days. Thank you Joy, I need to consider how do I stop doubting and start trusting completely even when there seems to be no way,,God in heaven can make a way.
    I want to be a joy to him in all that I think and do.
    Joy

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

