“Where does Satan hide?”

My husband asked me that question one day, “Where does Satan hide?”  My answer: “In plain sight.”

Satan doesn’t hide anywhere, he’s always hangin’ around, waiting to trip us up one way or another in perfectly tailored, ingenious ways, tuned to our short-comings, faults, pride, lust, desires. He’s brazen and he’s discreet, and he can trip us up so quickly, we often don’t know what happened. If we’re a Christian and have our wits about us, we can sometimes recognize a set-up and take steps (pray like the devil!) to head it off. Sometimes, that is. Satan is a conniver, so smooth, so cool, so wicked. “Be of sober spirit, be on the alert. Your adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.”  1 Peter 5:8 

The other day had a bit of the devil in it. A somewhat minor thing happened that upset me, and then, a bit of information surfaced that really concerned me. Quickly, my day seemed to be on a fast track of ruin, a bummer of a day. I could sense Satan working on ruining my day, filling me with fear, guilt, dread, anxiety. I realized that this was Satan’s work, and in keeping with my resolution I made just one short post ago, I knew I was to turn these thoughts over to God. I would do what I could to apologize and patch up a situation, but beyond that, events were out of my control. I recognized that, and said, “God, it’s in your court, I’m not going to worry about it. You have to power to change things and work this situation out. I am going to trust you.”  I will tell you, it is a relief to turn these “out of control” things over to God. (Now, to be consistent with this action!)  This brought to my mind of one particular Sunday in our church class; a man was speaking of being a handyman and shared his motto: “Do your best, and caulk the rest.”   I say let God be the “caulk”.

After thinking a bit more, after turning these events over to God, I realized that Satan can’t claim my day if I refuse to let him. A way to salvage the day is to do one good thing. It doesn’t even have to be huge, just one small thing and you’ll nip that negativity in the bud. Do a small favor for someone, tell a good joke, laugh, tell someone how much they matter to you, visit a friend. Mail a greeting card, even do a load of laundry and put the clean items away. Empty the trash cans, or wash up the dishes. Anything positive, anything good, anything that brings a smile or a sense of accomplishment or sense of satisfaction, will steal the day from Satan.  Satan will be off to the side, red in the face, steam escaping from his ears, and stomping his feet. I know I’d rather have more (good) days stolen from Satan than not, but beware, he’s ready for the next opportunity.

If you agree, share this! 

JOY

15 thoughts on ““Where does Satan hide?”

    • No Stephen, this street scene is in Galena, Illinois, a picturesque, historic town next to a river (which I can’t think the name of). Illinois is in the midwest of the United States. I traveled there on a vacation a few years back, a really neat place to see–and sort of touristry, but I really enjoyed it.

  1. Amen and so very true…God has won and He wins:) I do believe without any doubt that we are to remain on alert always with our armor on…satan can prowl about but we can stand firm in telling him to get lost!

    • One time, I was in my house, and realized that the devil was trying to ruin my day, I just shouted for him to get out of my house! There’s power in speaking out and acknowledging that Satan is real.

  2. Amen. Resist the devil and he will flee…you made the choice to be transformed by the renewing of your mind and you took us with you! Of course it was just ‘one post ago’ you resolved…we are tested by what we share (at least that’s been my experience). Thank you for sharing and I’m praying for you my sister.

  3. Just something to think about: When resisting Satan, some people say, “I rebuke you, Satan, in the name of Jesus.” One day I had a friend who said to me, “Beth, not even the Lord Himself said it that way. He said in Zechariah 3:2 said, “The Lord rebuke you, Satan!” After hearing that, I changed my “prayer” to “Lord, will you please rebuke Satan? He seems to be after me today. I need your power to resist Him.”

  4. Another excellent post reminding us that our enemy is real and it isn’t God. So many people make God out to be the enemy when there is no greater lie than that. This post was a great reminder that we can choose how we react when things begin to go wrong and the enemy is controlling our thought life. The practical application of doing something positive is great advice. Also appreciate the comment from Beth that it is the Lord who rebukes satan. Always look forward to reading your posts.

  5. This is great – so often we forget the power in focusing on others and doing good with a smile on our face. It doesn’t just add joy to our lives and bring God glory, but that it’s actually foiling Satan’s plans and efforts.

    • Genesis 50:20 “As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good in order to bring about this present result, to preserve many people alive.” God can turn around our lives, our circumstances. Kind of like making lemondade out of lemons!

  6. Terrific post! Much wisdom in pointing out that the enemy hides “in plain sight”….and you cracked me up with “pray like the devil”….lol

    You share so much wisdom…love to read your posts!

    The following resonates strongly with me and I needed to read this! :

    “Anything positive, anything good, anything that brings a smile or a sense of accomplishment or sense of satisfaction, will steal the day from Satan. “

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

