(God’s) Earth Day

Coming soon to a neighborhood near you, Earth Day. Will you be “celebrating” Earth Day? I think I celebrate Earth Day nearly every day. I will to tell you how and why.

I celebrate Earth Day when I get up in the morning, pour my cup of coffee and look out the window at the sunrise. I love the soft colors, the cloud formations, the peaceful sereneness of the morning, just a few birds calling, searching for a mate for the season (as some humans do?). I celebrate when I raise the door window shade and see my beautiful backyard; the grass emerald-green, my peonies, roses, Lily of the Valley, Hostas, and honeysuckle sprouting soft, supple green growth.  I celebrate all through the day when I observe the clouds, the sky, butterflies, and the scent of lilacs on a warm breeze.   “Oh Lord, how many are Your works! In wisdom You have made them all; The earth is full of Your possessions.”  Psalms 104: 24.  God has made them all, not me. I did not make the earth, nor the animals, nor the trees, oceans, wind–and these things did not evolve.

When I admire, marvel, enjoy and respect what God has made, I worship the Creator of these things, not the things themselves. I don’t litter because it’s irresponsible and ugly. I don’t believe in dumping chemicals into streams, because God created the streams for fish and living things–besides, I’ve been known to eat some of the fish that came out of those waters!  “He sends forth springs in the valleys; they flow between the mountains; they give drink to every beast of the field; the wild donkeys quench their thirst; beside them the birds of the heavens dwell; they lift up their voices among the branches. He waters the mountains from His upper chambers; the earth is satisfied with the fruit of His works.”  Psalm 104: 10-13. Having clean air and water is imperative to present and future generations–that is if there are future generations–millions have not been allowed to live both in and out of the womb. I keep hearing how we are to “save the earth for future generations” –but of course, only the ones that deserve the privilidge of being born.

I recognize God as being the “author” of all of the earth. We grow vegetables and try to eat healthy, because my body is God’s temple, not my temple. I’m now a label reader and try to avoid body products that contain harmful chemicals.  I think recycling items into other useful objects is fun, thrifty, and wise— not because I’m trying to save the earth. I won’t be referring to the weather patterns as “Mother Nature”; instead, you may hear me call it “Father God”.  Father God sent the rain, the snow, the storms, the hurricanes–not Mother Nature. We don’t “upset” Mother Nature, Mother Nature does not get mad at us.  I think wind power and solar power and conserving electricity is a great idea.  I do believe in respecting our earth’s resources, because of who the resource giver is.

I don’t worship animals and put them on a higher plane than humans. I believe animal rights do not trump human rights. “Then God said, “Let us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; and let them rule over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the sky and over the cattle and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.”  Genesis 1: 26. 

I come to Earth Day for a different reason and with a different frame of mind. “You visit the earth and cause it to overflow; You greatly enrich it; The stream of God is full of water; You prepare their grain, for thus You prepare the earth. You water its furrows abundantly, You settle its ridges, You soften it with showers, You bless it’s growth.  You have crowned the year with Your bounty, and Your paths drip with fatness. The pastures of the wilderness drip, and the hills gird themselves with rejoicing.  The meadows are clothed with flocks and the valleys are covered with grain; they shout for joy, yes they sing.”  Psalm 65: 9-13.

Sunday, April 22, 2012.  Earth Day. How appropriate to celebrate on “Son Day”!

JOY

14 thoughts on “(God’s) Earth Day

  1. What a brilliant post! This is one of the best “stewardship” lessons I’ve ever encountered. The thoughts you share are rooted in biblical conviction & common sense, and made even stronger by your use of Scripture throughout. I will definitely be sharing this post with others, and will very likely use it in a Bible study I lead tomorrow night. (I’ll credit you of course!) 🙂

  2. What a gift to be able to share so insightfully without being ridiculous or off-putting. Such a clear message with excellent scripture. You paint a picture that is so very clear. Yes, God is the Maker of all things. Whether He gets the credit or not, doesn’t negate the fact that He is the Creator. Please keep sharing!

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

