Keeper of the Books

I’ve a new Accountant. Well, actually, He’s been around forever, but I just recently realized what a wonderful job He does in keeping track of checks and balances.

You see, I’m miserable at math–good at art and other right-brained activities, but when it comes to keeping a tab on how many good deeds I’ve done and whether or not I’ve been properly and appropriately reimbursed in a timely manner, I’ve found that I’d best leave that to my Master Accountant.  “Let us not lose heart  in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary.  So then, while we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, and especially to those who are of the household of faith.”  Galatians 6:9,10.

“…in due time…”.  Not in my time, not in regard to my agenda, nor my idea of “payback”.  I’ve done good things for people in the past, and I know I’ve forgotten about many of those instances but it seems as if the ones I have the most trouble with are the recent ones. My old Stinkin’ Thinkin’ goes something like this: “…and to think I have done so much to help her in the past and what did I gain?”  “I took meals to her when we could hardly afford to spare the cost!”   “I donated all those handmade items that took me hours to make and they went for next to nothing. What an insult!”  (See, I told you I was going to be honest here…)

Have you “done good” for years? Have you ever, in the quiet of your heart, in those times of doubt, secretly wondered when and if you were ever going to reap the benefits? Perhaps you might be wondering why you even bother doing the Father’s will.  Have you tallied up your deeds and sacrifices and decided you’ve got a higher, bigger stack of “good” than others? Or maybe you’ve watched others and were resentful of the amount of “payback” they have received. Or, perhaps you have done good and wished you hadn’t, and plan on stingily holding back in the future. “Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive  the reward of the inheritance. It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.”  Colossians 3:23, 24.

Within the past month, my husband and I have been the recipients of so much grace, Godly direction, smooth roads, blessings, open doors, and obvious green lights from the Lord we can scarcely believe it. A girl could get used to this! We sit and discuss it with delight, marvel over it, share it with others, and thank and praise God for His provision! We are seeing God giving us things we have asked for in the past, not really knowing if we would ever receive–little things, big things, fun things!  “For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.”  Jeremiah 29:11

I have discovered that God is the orchestrator of our lives… He conducts and directs–if we will let Him! I laughingly commented to my husband, “Since God has been working so many things out lately, I’ve found I trust Him even more!”  (Okay, not the most mature comment, seeing as the times I should trust Him the most is during the life events I don’t understand–but cut me some slack here as I’m having a ball!) Perhaps I will store up and treasure and remember these times for when life’s music begins playing the Blues.

So now I’m back to wondering… did I do so much good in the past, am I so special and wonderful, did my husband do such awesome good deeds, that now we are reaping what we sowed?  I don’t know, but what I do know is that I must leave it all up to my Accountant; I need to just pour my good works into His lap and let Him add or subtract, multiply or divide the numbers. I don’t need to be concerned about the blessings others may receive, as the ones I receive are specially tailored for me, my distinct situation and unique wants and needs–in due time“For the eyes of the Lord move to and fro throughout the earth that He may strongly support those whose heart is completely His…”  2 Chronicles 15:9  Is my heart the Lord’s?  That’s all I need to be concerned about.  He’s in charge of the balance sheet.

JOY

*The abandoned house pictured above is located in the state of Nebraska. I’ve passed it many times, and recently was able to stop and snap a photo.

18 thoughts on “Keeper of the Books

  1. Wow, this beautifully captures what matters most – our heart towards ‘our Great Accountant’ – the wisest, most trustworthy Lord and Saviour we could ask for. Love that verse from 2 Chronicles. Thank you for this wonderful analogy. Glad you’ve been experiencing lots of blessings and open doors lately, praise God 🙂

  2. Glad to hear you’re being blessed. It’s funny how you quote the scriptures I read so often and link them together in exactly the same way.
    The farm house looks like it’s waiting for Handyman and Joy’ arrival. I thought you were going to say this was your new home. Nice big garden and the lawn looks so inviting. 🙂
    Bless you Joy, a very nice post, Geoff.

    • Oh you funny Fine Feathered Afrikan Friend! No, this is not our “new” home! LOL! I did look at some homes that needed almost this much work on them, but we are too old to start in on long-term remodeling projects again! (we just have a few we want to do!)

  3. I think I am a little bruised after reading this( there I said it aloud). Wonderful insight, beautiful writing. Enjoy the season of favor. Let it rain on you!
    Paige

      • I just meant that the way you described it really hit me in the heart. I too have struggled as you describe and reading your honest post really pointed it out for me.

      • After I re-read what I wrote, I thought, “wow, I’m really self-centered, worrying about when and if I’ll ever “get” anything, any blessings in return”. Jesus’s sacrifice should be enough of a reason for me to be Christ-like to people without wondering if I would be “paid back”.

  4. We all struggle here whether we admit it or not. This is quite similar to the post you shared(I think it was you) recently about returning the milk that went unpaid for. We are sooo human, it’s amazing that He has any patience after dealing with all of us!

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

