Beauty Is Fleeting

I had my hair highlighted the other day. I was becoming concerned about the gray creeping in, and after watching a couple of episodes of “What Not to Wear”, I went to the mirror to take a closer look. Hmmm… “maybe I AM dressing like an old woman… maybe I should try to look younger…”  Not that I feel old, I’m just thinking a little change here, a little improvement there, maybe a smaller size in clothing… no harm done (loose clothing only makes one look sloppy–and older). Why not look as good as you can for as long as you can? After sharing my thoughts with my friend she said, “I can see you are going to be dragged into old age kicking and screaming…”  I said,  “I’m just giving old age a gentle embrace instead of a warm hug.” 

So, highlights appeared, I bought some clothing that actually fits, and next, I’m going to choose some new, updated eye glasses (“progressive” lens).   All this got me to thinking, am I now considered “a woman of a certain age”? I did a Google Search, and found some interesting theories of what age actually qualifies as “a certain age”.  I was not encouraged but, I took heart. This came to mind:   “Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.”  Proverbs 31: 30 & 31

Glad to hear it! I don’t have to tell anyone how much pressure is on women these days to look terrific all the time. Have you noticed, there are no longer any “plain-looking” women on TV these days. If you aren’t young, hot and with perfect teeth, your face will not appear for millions to see.  But the great figure and great face only last so long–and only go so far in life. Then what? Whatcha gonna do when the heads don’t turn anymore? Well, lets hope you’ve developed your mind, talents, learned a few things, acquired some (biblical) wisdom and tucked a few woman smarts under your belt (that for some strange reason has shrunk!).

But back to my verse:  All the beauty, good looks, clothing, jewelry, and various accoutrements are nothing if you are a fool, pursuing worldly pleasures, sin, full of meaningless fluff, and self-centered. Nothing beats the inner beauty of a godly woman– one who carries herself with dignity and intelligence, dresses modestly in public, has developed a talent, is gracious and kind, takes care of her children, husband, home, and celebrates and embraces her womanhood.  

I know I can’t hold off aging–and aging itself is surely nothing to be ashamed of. And I know the outward appearance is important, but not as important as what is within my heart. Beauty fades, but the wisdom from the Lord last forever. 

JOY

If you are a “woman of a certain age”, or a “man of a certain age”, or if you can’t remember your age, or just if you agree, please share this post!

The photo of the doll:  This doll was given to me by a neighbor lady when I was about 5 years old. This had been her doll as a little girl. She asked for it back (when I was still at that age) and I said, “No”.  I would estimate the doll to be around 80 years old. I hope dolly has a heart for Christ as her beauty has certainly faded!

11 thoughts on “Beauty Is Fleeting

  1. When my pain outweighed the temporary improvement gotten by hair color, make-up, what have you, I discovered the pain made me look, feel and act older. So, since I never remember to put my light-up make-up mirror where I can use it seated (not much space when everything is moved for painting) the make-up sits unused, I’ve gotten more compliments on how my silver hair “flower” looks, etc. So aging naturally works best for me.

  2. Ah! Now I understand the fake crime scene. 🙂
    There is much I could write about women, beauty and wisdom. As the cracks in the outer beauty start to appear, so the inner self appears.
    I’m contend with my boyish good looks and a shining inner self, ha, ha, ha. But then of course I’m not sure whether I’m a “woman” of a certain age yet. Hmm, I’ll have to work that one out. 🙂
    Just joking Joy, blessings and good looks to you, Geoff.

  3. How mean for someone to give the tiny child Joy a doll and then ask for it back! It’s beautiful, even with its broken face. That’s really what makes it so appealing. It has a history and you can see it without any words at all. Like us!

    • Oh, I don’t hold it against the neighbor–she had second thoughts about her childhood treasure (heehee… you were just writing about “things”). What I think is interesting is my selfishness in not realizing how precious the doll was to her, but then, I was just 5 years old. (On another note, a few years ago, I contacted her son, thinking perhaps the family would like to have the doll back—no takers!)

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

