Home, Sweet Silent, Sane Home

All in a day's work.

All in a day’s work.

I say there’s nothing like a day at work to appreciate a day at home.

Some call it drudgery, I call it delight. A day at home to do what I need to do, want to do, and shouldn’t do. Laundry, load the dishwasher, file papers, pay bills on line, set up appointments, clean the bathroom, watch Jonathan Scott on HGTV, sew, spend hours on Pinterest, eat chocolate ice cream cones… that’s me enjoying my day–away from my place of employment.

The sounds of silence…  just me and the sounds as I went about my day: Shuffling around in my house slippers, pulling the sheets up to make the bed. The creaking floor as I move through the house. The sound of pouring coffee, putting the lid on the sugar bowl, slowly slurping coffee. Loading clothes into the washing machine; the sound of the water pouring in, listening to the sound of the agitator from the upstairs. Hearing the mail lady drop today’s letters into the box, the hum of the clothes dryer and glancing out the window, the plume of steam coming from the vent.

The TV, radio, and computer are off. I’ve cut the umbilical cord to my phone and placed it in another room. I look out the window and see the branches of the pine tree swaying, the snow blowing, falling and adding additional inches to what we received a few days ago.  I hear the train blow it’s whistle just a block south of town, and the ticking of the clock on the living room wall.

As a 10 year old visiting my Grandmother’s farm house in eastern Illinois, I would observe my Grandmother going about her household chores sans any sort of interference from modern technology.  As she ran her wringer washer located in the decades old smoke house, she sang hymns. As she fed her chickens, the only sound was grain being thrown from her bucket and the excited clucking of hens. I would hear baby pigs squealing, cows mooing, the well pump clanging, and most memorable of all, the sound of her Cuban-heeled shoes hitting the sidewalk as she moved from the out buildings to her house… then, the slap of the screen door–one of the most wonderful summer sounds in the world! Inside, as she settled into her rocking chair to rest and glance over the daily news, the clock would strike the hour, her rocker would creak, she would sigh, and the uplifting sweet sound of sparrows would drift through her open windows on a soft, warm breeze.

The rhythms of the home, a peaceful home. The logs slowly burn in our wood stove, glowing and popping embers, leaping colored flames . I’m chopping vegetables, making soup. Mixing ingredients, baking bread.

Husband comes home to warmth, good food, comfort. The sounds of sweet silence have cleared and calmed my mind. Some may say I don’t get paid, but I say I do. My laundry is done, my house is clean, food is prepared, the groceries are bought, and the small details of life have been taken care of.  I say, ‘Priceless’. A day at home far surpasses a day at work.

“She looketh well to the ways of her household.” Proverbs 31:27

“By wisdom a house is built and by understanding it is established; and by knowledge the rooms are filled with all precious and pleasant riches.”  Proverbs 24:3,4.

JOY

12 thoughts on “Home, Sweet Silent, Sane Home

  1. I love having days like this, too! We FINALLY had some wintery weather here on the Central Coast of Cali this past Sunday, rain pouring down, chill in the air, and I enjoyed baking not one, but TWO desserts while my kiddo played with her friend. Did some laundry, watched a bit of the Superbowl chitter chatter before the game, and took my time, just enjoying being home! XOXO-SWM

I'd be interested in hearing what you think!

